Hope springs eternal

 Today was a full day since there were beef cutting instructions to write this morning, animals to feed and lots & lots of chicken and pork to pack in the freezer.  My mom was kind enough to help since there was about 3/4 of a ton of meat to get ready for the next few weeks of market.  She is a hard worker and her paycheck is quite reasonable (lunch of homemade country fried steak).  The cart to the left shows some frozen whole cut-up chickens.   At the markets we will have whole birds, whole cut-up birds and pieces (just wings, or thighs, or boneless, skinless breasts, etc.)  The freezer at the butcher shop cools to about -20 degrees, so the meat freezes fast without many ice crystals.   With the busy day I was behind schedule with chores so I collected the eggs after supper.  When the lactating mother ewes saw me walk by with a bucket (for the chickens supper), the sheep all came running in from pasture to be fed grain.  I told the silly, wooly animals that I admired their optimism, but Scott had just fed them supper an hour ago.  Guess you can not blame a creature for trying to get what he/she wants.

Leave a comment